Exquisite Transitions

Exploring the opportunities and gifts of changing times

A Heavy Heart

Lately I have been experiencing what I can only call, “heart openings.”  In my work I come across peoples’ stories everyday. I don’t believe I’ve become hardened to them, because for years now I know that everyone’s story is their own, and we all have them. I have mine, you have yours, and we all deal with them. Some do so better than others. Some are just seeking sympathy. Does that mean I have a hardened heart, or that I recognize that we all have stuff that we need to deal with, some things were avoidable, some learn from mistakes, others don’t… see where I’m going with this?

Anyway, on Christmas Eve my husband and I were driving back from my parents house and we encountered an accident that just occurred on one of the country roads leading to the parkway. There were 2 or 3 cars pulled over to the side of the road. As I passed I saw a deer on the ground, lying there with her head up and turned over her shoulder, stunned…and alone. I felt so bad. All these people standing around on their phones, and this deer was hurt, and she was all alone. No one at her side. My heart still breaks as I think of it. I cried much of the way home. I sent her blessings and love. I felt when she was put down, my heart broke…

Oh, Deer...

Wednesday, I experienced the overwhelming pain of hundreds, perhaps thousands of people’s fear and anxiety of undergo diagnostic testing. The e-motions flowed through me, and my heart broke…

Today, with much focus on the coming snow, I got to work only to find out my boss slipped on black ice at a meeting last night, broke her leg in three places and dislocated her ankle! She will need surgery, and we can only anticipate a slow and painful recovery. All of us are in shock. My heart is breaking…

Since Christmas, my heart has been breaking…open. Each time I feel that while my heart is heavy, the heaviness comes from the love I feel–the pain I feel as the Love flows, even though the flow is ignited by sadness. I think of these things and the tears flow easily and my heart gets heavy with Love all over again.

Deer-est

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

