Exquisite Transitions

Exploring the opportunities and gifts of changing times

Building Trust

My cat Amber and I just had a nice little chat about Trust. Amber and her sister April were “delivered to me” in dream state by my then, recently passed 15-year-old kitty, Mushroom. It’s a long story, perhaps for another time, but there is absolutely no question in my mind that these two kittens were meant to be with me.

Amber enjoying some sisterly grooming from April

What’s more I believe Amber IS Mushroom. There are several reasons why I believe this, including that Mushie made the etheric match in the first place, but one of the more powerful reason is that with both of them I had to allow for the building of trust. Like Mushroom, Amber has/had trust issues. Mushroom was nearly 4 months old when I got her, and she lived most of that time caged in the vets office. However I adopted Amber and April when they were 9-weeks-old, so there was no apparent reason she should have trust issues, unless of course she came in to this life with these issues, in order to clear them, just as Mushroom did.

So as I chatted with Amber just now ( 😉 ) , realizing this did make me wonder why she would come back again so soon to re-learn that lesson. [Perhaps I’m just “known” now in the feline realm as a good builder of trust so I came recommended??]

This got me to thinking just what had and again is taking place with these cats, and with me as well. At least with my conscious experiences with Mushroom and now Amber, I realized that I seem to have a knack for building trust. Amber pointed out that I trust fairly easily. I must admit I do feel protected, and while I grew up in a household where victim mentality was prevalent and trust was rarely on the radar, I seem to have come away with a trusting outlook nonetheless. And I must add, I cannot recall having been burned. Has it happened? I would imagine so. But if it did, it clearly didn’t leave much of an impression, let alone a scar 🙂 .

So I asked Amber what is it that is happening that enables that building of trust? And I could feel how both with Mushroom then, and Amber now, I just loved them. And I let them decide how much love they were ready to receive. And I was okay with however much that was. Sometimes I would “stretch” their ability to receive a little more by holding them an extra 5 or 10 seconds after they started to squirm away. But that’s about it. Love them up close when they can handle it, love them from farther way when they can’t. (Not to get God-like now or anything, but it does sound like descriptions I’ve heard about how God relates to us. That would be a pretty good role-model I should think 😀 )

I can’t believe that I am the only one who does this either, for sure! But for some reason I felt the need to share, in that sometimes what is obvious to one, is far from obvious to another.

This whole “conversation” has me reflecting on how this applies within human-to-human relationships. Do I do this with humans also? Is this truly what is required to build trust with other humans?? Is this Trust, or is this Love? Is there a difference? Can one truly have one without the other?

What do you think? Something to ponder…

5 Comments»

  tasinator wrote @

I believe you can trust someone without loving them, just as you can accept someone without trusting them. Trust, to me, is an understanding that someone will act or react in a particular way and acceptance is that you understand what that way is and say that it’s okay (for them).

Acceptance type love says I respect and offer you acceptance, faults and all, no matter what you may do or say.

Romantic love is more primal, and is based more on physical responses.

In the overall scheme of life, I try to accept everyone, but it isn’t always easy 😉

  slowvelder wrote @

Cats are such amazing teachers when it comes to love and trust. My fred drinks out of the pool right in front of me and he doesnt for one moment think that i could nudge him right in while he is tipped at such an angle ( although it looks tempting I never would!) 🙂

He is my hero

  shamballa9944 wrote @

I agree Slo. I think cats don’t think about things like that, cause they don’t have that little “I’m gonna play a trick on you” gene. Not in their consciousness…LOL.

  bet365 italia wrote @

hello!This was a really outstanding post!
I come from milan, I was luck to find your subject in google
Also I learn a lot in your theme really thank your very much i will come later

  shamballa9944 wrote @

Thanks Bet365italia, and welcome to Exquisite Transitions. Please feel free to share your thoughts and ideas here as well!


Leave a Reply

