Exquisite Transitions

Exploring the opportunities and gifts of changing times

Hitting Pause

The strangest thing happened Wednesday night. I was watching something on TiVo when I needed to get up to do something. So without thinking I hit the PAUSE button, and in that instant everything stopped. I felt it.

I looked at the clock, it was off. Then I heard all the electronics clicking off: it seems the power failed.

Certainly not a terribly unusual occurrence. And we’d had electricians working in the building that day. In fact, they were “supposed” to work in our apartment on Wednesday, but our downstairs neighbors refused to allow them access, so it will have to be rescheduled.

But the timing… and the feeling. It felt like I did it. Inadvertently. The timing was instantaneous. Coincidence? Perhaps. In someone else’s universe, a non-event. But in my Universe, as I experienced it…I paused everything for exactly a half an hour.

Very weird.

3 Comments»

  cohenix wrote @

Thanks for the chuckle.

  tasiantor wrote @

Enjoyed this immensely. You have such wit and wisdom. Thanks for writing.

  shamballa9944 wrote @

What do you mean? I was deadly serious!

He he…


Leave a Reply

