Exquisite Transitions

Exploring the opportunities and gifts of changing times

Snow Day

Gifts come in many forms. This week many of us in the East received a gift of 24 hours. It’s been decades since I had a “snow day.” So different from a Saturday or Sunday with lists of things to take care of and agendas of their own–it was a snow day! It was completely unexpected  and felt like such a gift.

While the weather reports were very clear that a big storm was on the way, I had heard that my employer very rarely closed down. Even as one school district after another preemptively closed for the day, there was no inkling that our offices would close–at best open perhaps one hour later. This is what others shared based on past experience.

So the delight of hearing a voicemail message at 6:30 in the morning that our offices were CLOSED was palpable. There were things I needed to do from home to alert clients, check emails and so forth, but I did not need to make a tense drive through snow and ice! And I could go back to bed!!

Freedom!

When I got up a couple of hours later I checked in with myself what I would do with myself and my day. First, exercise. Great, plenty of time, no pressure to be done by a certain hour–followed by a relaxed, hot shower.

Then, slipping into comfy sweats I decided, yes, this is the perfect day to attend to the sewing projects that there was never time for. They didn’t take very long, but it felt great to have these projects done, and enjoy the fruits of my labor.

Add in a few relaxed phone calls, a nice nap and extra time with hubby and kitties and it was a gift of a day.

Interestingly this same sense was felt by each of us in the office. Perhaps because there had been such a climate of “the office must be open” in the past,  we were all so much more relaxed and happy having received an unexpected, yet very welcome gift of 24 hours to do with as we pleased! 🙂

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

